The ISACA  Certified Information Security Manager® (CISM) is one of the most important and prestigious InfoSec qualifications in the world today.

CISM defines the core competencies and international standards of performance that information security managers are expected to master. It provides executive management with the assurance that those who have earned their CISM have the experience and knowledge to offer effective security management and advice.

This 5-day course provides an intense environment in which participants can acquire, thoroughly and properly, the skills and knowledge expected of a world-class information security manager. In the process the course provides outstanding preparation for the CISM exam.

FORMAT: Classroom, Instructor-led, 5 days.

Learning outcomes

This course has been independently commissioned with two objectives:

  • To provide an environment in which security professionals can acquire, thoroughly and properly, the skills and knowledge expected of a world class information security manager. Whether or not you intend to sit for the CISM exam, this course is a powerful way to equip yourself with the knowledge of the five core competencies that define the successful information security manager.
  • To maximise your prospects at the CISM exam if you choose to sit it.

Who should attend

The CISM designation is for Information Security professionals who have 3-5 years of front-line experience with the security of information. This credential is geared towards Information Security managers and those who have information security management responsibilities.

Course contents

This 5-day course is structured to follow the four Job Practice Areas as set out in the current CISM Review Manual. The course comprehensively covers each of the core competencies and associated task and knowledge statements, thereby ensuring thorough preparation for the CISM exam. The fundamental thrust of the examination is on understanding the concepts, not on memorising facts.  As a result, the course will be presented in an interactive manner to ensure the underlying concepts are understood and examination questions can be analysed properly to achieve the correct answer.

1. Information Security Governance and Strategy
  • Effective Information Security Governance
  • Key Information Security Concepts and Issues
  • The IS Manager
  • Scope and Charter of Information Security Governance
  • IS Governance Metrics
  • Developing an IS Strategy – Common Pitfalls
  • IS Strategy Objectives
  • Determining Current State of Security
  • Strategy Resources
  • Strategy Constraints
  • Action Plan Immediate Goals
  • Action Plan Intermediate Goals

Practice Questions; Review of Practice Questions;
Reference Materials and Glossary

2. Information Security Risk Management and Compliance
  • Effective Information Security Risk Management
  • Integration into Life Cycle Processes
  • Implementing Risk Management
  • Risk Identification and Analysis Methods
  • Mitigation Strategies and Prioritisation
  • Reporting Changes to Management

Practice Questions; Review of Practice Questions;
Reference Materials and Glossary

3. Information Security Program Development and Management
  • Planning
  • Security Baselines
  • Business Processes
  • Infrastructure
  • Malicious Code (Malware)
  • Life Cycles
  • Impact on End Users
  • Accountability
  • Security Metrics
  • Managing Internal and External Resources

Practice Questions; Review of Practice Questions;
Reference Materials and Glossary

4. Information Security Incident Management
  • Implementing Effective Information Security Management
  • Security Controls and Policies
  • Standards and Procedures
  • Trading Partners and Service Providers
  • Security Metrics and Monitoring
  • The Change Management Process
  • Vulnerability Assessments
  • Due Diligence
  • Resolution of Non-Compliance Issues
  • Culture, Behavior and Security Awareness

Practice Questions; Review of Practice Questions;
Reference Materials and Glossary

Course fees

Face-to-face classroom training


Fees MYR Per Person

  • CISM® Certified Information Security Manager
  • $7,200 + gst


The CISM exam is set, conducted and marked by ISACA.  It used to be held on the 2nd Saturday in June, September and December. From 2017 onwards there will be no more paper exams.  Instead, all exams will be conduced online via computer-based testing centers around the world.

The good news is that this gives candidates a much greater choice as to timing.  ISACA has advised that: Certification exams will be offered during eight-week testing windows scheduled for 1 May – 30 June, 1 August – 30 September and 1 November – 31 December. 

For more information and to register for an ISACA exam, please refer to the exams page on the ISACA web site:

Exam Registration

Normally, those wishing to sit the exam would register directly with ISACA for their exam session of choice and would make payment of the exam fee direct to ISACA.  As a service to our customers, ALC is able to combine the exam fee with the course fee and provide both on the one invoice.

If you wish to take this option please indicate “CISM Course + Exam” in the COMMENTS field when making your online registration. We will contact you with full details of what is involved.


Qualifying for CISM requires a combination of four "e's": experience, ethics, education and examination. Specifically, the requirements are:

  • Successful completion of the CISM exam
  • Adherence to a code of professional conduct
  • Commitment to continuing professional education
  • Submission of verified evidence of a minimum of five years of information security work experience, with a minimum of three years of information security management work experience in three or more of the job practice areas. Waivers for general information security work experience are available, if certain education or certification requirements are met

The CISM certification program recognises the achievement of the CISSP credential as a baseline representation that an individual has gained general information security skill and knowledge, just as it does with individuals who have earned a CISA. As such, CISSPs receive a two-year general information security experience waiver. However, CISSPs will not be eligible to earn a CISM unless they have the required experience and can demonstrate proficiency and practical knowledge in the role of an information security manager.

Holders of other, more specialised credentials, such as the SANS Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC), Microsoft Security Systems Engineer (MCSE), CompTIA Security + Credential and the Disaster Recovery Institute Certified Business Continuity Professional (CBCP) also can receive a one-year general information security experience waiver.